To Philosophize, or Not

I recently made the decision to give up philosophy. I have come to realize that this is the kind of decision that should be made continuously over time, rather than once, and so it seems appropriate to me to set down my reasons for giving up philosophy, and the reasons why I might continue it.

I came to view my interest in philosophy as a form of vice. This is because I enjoy it out of proportion to the extent which I feel it helps others. I feel that the world does not particularly need more philosophy at this time.

I used to feel that I could help others through philosophy, but I now feel that there are other ways in which I can help the world more greatly than I can through philosophy.

I feel that philosophy pushes me away from others. Most people are not interested in philosophy, and I mostly regard other philosophers (along with all academics) as twits.

Since giving up philosophy I have been depressed and have found a lack of meaning in my life. I think that these were problems from which I distracted myself with philosophy. Philosophy not only helps with these problems by sheer distraction, but also by making me feel smart and therefore good about myself.

I hoped that by giving up philosophy I could better learn to love others, or become more spiritual. These rewards have not been particularly forthcoming. Whether or not I give up philosophy, I expect to better learn to love others and become more spiritual as time goes on. I expect to do so faster if I give up philosophy.

Philosophy makes me feel better, but in a fairly self-indulgent way. It enhances my yellow-ray and indigo-ray blockages.

Philosophy might be used as a form of therapy. Can philosophy be used to reduce suffering? Perhaps.

Consider the following. If the universe is infinite, then the universe contains infinite suffering. If the universe is my self (as is thought in Advaitism), then I suffer infinitely. Therefore, nothing I can do can increase or decrease my suffering. By intellectually acknowledging these points, I can become better able to accept my suffering. This strategy has helped me to deal with physical pain.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

