Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus: Public domain translation

I wanted to write an analysis of the Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus for my book, but I couldn’t find a public domain translation. Here is a translation by me, from the Latin by Chrysogonus Polydorus, in 1541. I hereby commit it to the public domain. I apologize for the poor quality.

I wanted to write an analysis of the Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus for my book, but I couldn’t find a public domain translation. Here is a translation, from the Latin by Chrysogonus Polydorus, in 1541. I hereby commit it to the public domain.

1. Truly, without error, certainly and most truly:
2. That which is below is as that which is above, and that which is above is as that which is below, towards the performance of the miracle of the one thing.
3. And as all things come from one, through the meditation of the one, so all things are born out of this one thing, through transformation.
4. Its father is the Sun. Its mother is the Moon.
5. The wind carried It in its belly. Its food is the earth.
6. The father of all consecrated things is this.
7. Its power is whole if it is turned into earth.
8. Separate earth from fire, subtle from coarse, lovingly, with great intelligence.
9. It ascends from earth into heaven, once more descends into earth, and receives the power of things above and things below.
10. Thus you may govern the glory of the whole world.
11. Thereby you may leave behind all obscurity.
12. This is the true power of all powers, because it conquers all subtle things, and penetrates all solid things.
13. Thus is the world created.
14. From this will be miraculous transformations, of which this is the method. Therefore I am named Hermes Trismegistus, having the three-part philosophy of the whole world.
15. My speech about the working of the Sun is finished.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

