Getting to Sleep

Lately I’ve been having to get up at six in the morning, for Zen practice. This is bad because I have insomnia and generally terrible sleep patterns. Here are some things I have found that help. Some of them are tips from my master; thanks, Haju!

1. Do not sleep at odd hours! Not under any circumstances!

2. Don’t do stimulating things in the evening. In my case these include: computer usage; eating sugar; intellectually demanding tasks. I try to reserve these activities for the morning or afternoon.

3. Chamomile tea.

4. Self-hypnosis works. I gather that a lot of people use elaborate techniques with visualizations, recitations, etc. to hypnotize themselves. In my case, for this task, I just invoke the feeling of comfortably dozing off, without the use of that sort of formal machinery.

  1. #1 by Eric on July 12, 2012 - 3:58 am

    Getting regular exercise is a simple and highly beneficial (mentally and physically) way to feel sleepy at the days’ end.

  2. #2 by antitheology on July 12, 2012 - 12:44 pm

    Good point! Thanks for the tip, Eric!

Leave a Reply

